PDF View Updates from International Olympic Commitee
2nd Summer Youth Olympic Games, 16 - 28 August 2014, Nanjing, China (CHN)
NANJING 2014 On the 10th of February 2010, the 122nd IOC session at Vancouver announced Nanjing as the host city of the second summer YOG.The slogan of the Nanjing 2014 Youth Olympic Games is “Share the Games, Share our Dreams”.

Nanjing 2014 aims to:
  • Boost self-understanding, active participation and creativity in young people both in the sports arena and in everyday life
  • Promote understanding of other cultures, build up friendships, and help young people to appreciate responsibility in a mature way
  • Advocate fair competition and respect for the rules
  • Build awareness of a healthy lifestyle and protection of the environment
  • Boost self-confidence of young people.

15th FINA World Masters Championships, Montreal 2014, 27 July - 10 August, Montreal, CANADA (CAN)
FINA The 15th Edition of the FINA World Masters Championships will take place in Montreal (CAN) from 27 July 27 - 10 August 2014. The FINA World Masters Championships is one of FINA's biggest competition in terms of participation, for the reason that it welcomes, every two years, swimmers, divers and water polo players aged 25 to more than a 100 years old from all corners of the world.

Download latest Newsletter from FINA
CommonWealth Games Update
Glassgow Two of Uganda's swimming representatives Jamilah Lunkuse and Arnold Kisulo broke national reords on Day One of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland yesterday.

Placed in Heat 2 of the women's 50m breaststroke, Lunkuse finished an impressive second in a time of 34.62 seconds. Kenyan Rebecca Wacui won the Heat in 33.83 seconds with Swan Lianna of Pakistan taking third place. That perfrormance was a huge improvement on Lunkuse's previous Personal Best of 35.46 seconds.. But like all the other finishers in the Heat, Lunkuse's time, although a national record, was too slow compared to the other heats. She thus couldnt progress. Kisulo also suffered similar fate, clocking 28.61 seconds to finish fourth in the men's 50m butterfly Heat 2. With a previous Personal Best of 29.28, Kisulo also made a giant leap for the new national record but fell short of a semifinal berth.
"I would have been happier if they had qualified but I am still happy that they have improved on their time," Isaac Rwenzo said of his swimmers.

50M bufferfly (men) Heat 2 50m breaststroke (w) Heat 2
Abeiku Jackson (GHANA) 27.21 Rebecca Wacui (KENYA) 33.83
Addo Kwaku (GHANA) 27.80 Jamila Lunkuse (UGA) 34.62
Collin Akara (PNG) 28.48 Swan Lianna (PAK) 35.72
Arnold Kisulo (UGA) 28.61  
Advertise here